Our network

Events

Annual No Frills Buffalo Golf Tournament to Benefit Hospice Foundation

Annual No Frills Buffalo Golf Tournament to Benefit Hospice Foundation

No Frills Buffalo publishing company’s eighth annual golf outing to benefit the Hospice Foundation will take place on Friday, July 8, at Chestnut Hill Country Club, 1330 Broadway, Darien Center.

Individual golfers, foursomes and sponsors are still being sought for the annual “Come Get Some” golf tournament. Registration and lunch begin at 12:30 p.m., followed by a 1:30 p.m. shotgun start.

Registration for the event is just $80 per golfer and includes lunch, a steak dinner, beverages and 18 holes of scramble-format golf. Tickets for dinner only are available for $40. Golfers of all skill levels are welcomed to participate in the event, which has now raised approximately $19,000 for Hospice since 2009.

West Seneca’s Outdoor Farmers’ Market Continues on May 26

West Seneca’s Outdoor Farmers’ Market Continues on May 26

Main Street Marketplace, West Seneca’s popular open-air farmers’ and food producers’ marketplace sponsored by the Western New York Federal Credit Union, continues on Thursday, May 26. The weekly event takes place from 4 to 7:30 p.m. Thursday evenings through Sept. 1 on the grassy hill at the corner of Union Road and Main Street, next to West Seneca Town Hall.

The outdoor venue features approximately 25 vendors selling a wide variety of products. The West Seneca Rotary will host the market’s community group table on May 26, while the Herreid Family will provide musical entertainment from approximately 5:30 to 7 p.m. The market’s new Family Fun Zone features several games for the enjoyment of guests of all ages.

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Western New York native Kali Quinn will return to Buffalo this weekend for a reading and book-signing event from 1 to 3 p.m. Sunday, May 22, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.

Part memoir, part curriculum, part field guide, her book “I Am Compassionate Creativity” explores the integral relationship between compassion and creativity, especially within moments of uncertainty and when moving through deep grief. Quinn’s research stems from years of performing solo theater, teaching within universities across the country, and growing up in Buffalo.

“I didn’t want to publish a book and just put it online and in bookstores,” explains Quinn. “I wanted to reconnect with family and friends in-person and deliver my book to them in their homes. I wanted to take these stories on tour and create a movement.”

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

What sets Buffalo and Western New York apart from other regions as a fun and unique travel destination? According to a recent online survey of “America’s Favorite Cities,” which ranked Buffalo at the very top of its travel list, categories such as architecture, craft breweries and public parks are hugely important to today’s trendy travelers. Restaurants and food also rank high atop the wish list of these road warriors.

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Hamburg author Jeff Schober will host a book launch for “Faces and Fingertips,” his new crime novel, from 5 to 8 p.m. on June 7 at Larkinville, 745 Seneca St., Buffalo, as part of Food Truck Tuesday.

Published by No Frills Buffalo, “Faces and Fingertips” is the third book in a crime series set in Buffalo during the 1980s. The two prior books were “Broken and Profane” (2011) and “Boneshaker” (2013).

“Faces and Fingertips” continues the story of former Buffalo detective Ken Connell as he recovers from a shooting. R.J. Sorrentino, a sketch artist who is Connell’s friend, makes a grisly discovery and approaches Connell for help.  

“My crime novels have been called fierce and compelling,” Schober said. “Faces and Fingertips will appeal to readers who like Michael Connelly or John Sandford.”

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Mark Hannon, author of “Every Man for Himself,” a crime novel about racketeering set in Buffalo during the early 1950s, will take part in a book-signing event from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 25, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.

Dog Ears Bookstore to Host Author Sinéad Tyrone

Dog Ears Bookstore to Host Author Sinéad Tyrone

Author Sinéad Tyrone will sign copies of her latest novel, “Crossing The Lough Between,” from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 4, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.  

“Crossing The Lough Between,” the sequel to “Walking Through The Mist,” continues the story of Aidan O'Connell and his Macready’s Bridge bandmates as they face new challenges and adventures. Set against a rich Ireland backdrop, “Crossing The Lough Between” is a heartwarming story with memorable characters you won't want to leave behind.

For more information, please call Dog Ears Bookstore at 823-2665 or visit their website at http://dogearsbookstore.org/. You can also follow Dog Ears Bookstore on Facebook for frequent updates.